The NAACP will continue to advocate for policies that dismantle systemic injustices and strive to improved the lives of the Black people and all Americans.

Derrick Johnson, President and CEO, NAACP



## MESSAGE FROM THE COMMUNITY

In what ways is the NAACP important to our community?

"The NAACP has created a powerful brand that is recognized as the oldest, biggest, and boldest Civil Rights organization in the country. Locally, the Monterey County branch has been instrumental in promoting social justice, voting rights, and equality for African Americans and other marginalized communities. We are staunch advocates and activists who proudly embrace the role of guardians of the community in crisis situations.

Additionally, we play a key role in cultural preservation and celebration of our ancestors on the Monterey Peninsula by sponsoring and participating in events like the Black History Month programs, Martin Luther King Day and Juneteenth celebrations, and other events promoting awareness and appreciation of African American history and culture.

We must admit, however, that although we are disappointed by the results of the most recent election, we are not devastated. As we head into uncertain times in this nation, the NAACP will once again lead the charge in our community to continue to be at the forefront of the movement to push our country toward true equality and fairness and to uplift the voices who are still calling for a change."

-Yvonne Thomas Past President NAACP Monterey County Branch

### **GET INVOLVED**

It's as easy as 1, 2, 3

- 1. Join the NAACP or make sure your membership is current.
- 2. Attend General Membership meetings on the 4thThursday night of the month. Check the website for updates.
- 3. Join an active committee to make a difference. Fill out the survey at <a href="https://montereynaacp.org/committee-signup/">https://montereynaacp.org/committee-signup/</a> and we will contact you.



# 2025-2026 OFFICERS & EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS

### **OFFICERS**

LYNDON TARVER, PRESIDENT
FAYE JENKINS-BELLOW, 1ST VICE PRESIDENT
PATRICIA SPENCER, SECRETARY
REGINALD A. GARNETT, TREASURER

#### **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEMBERS**

EDWARD ARMSTRONG
MARY CLAYPOOL
JESSE M. PERÈZ
JACQUELINE C. SIMON
ELLA R. WATTS
WES WHITE
LINWOOD EADY
BARBARA JOHNSON
ALICIA GAINES VAUGHN
RENIE RONDON-JACKSON
DEBBIE ANTHONY
ANDREA BAILEY